top of page
Government Zone - The Court of States

Twenty-three states participated in the World's Fair. With the exception of Florida, which was on Fountain Lake in the Amusement Zone, and New York, which owned the amphitheater on the shores of Fountain Lake, all other states and Puerto Rico were grouped near the Lagoon of Nations and the U.S. Pavilion.

Because of the national theme, the Court of States was the only area of the Fair where the Board of Design permitted traditional design and did not require original architecture.

(photo) Court of States Entrance courtesy Irene Nelson. Image captured from movie shot by her father Sea Captain Erik Manvall (1902-1987) and transferred to DVD by Johnny Riert (residents of Sweden)

States without information: Tennessee

Return to:
Government Zone